The Grenadiers are favorites in Group F, but…
By On 4 Aug, 2011 At 03:16 AM | Categorized As Sports News | With 0 Comments

The Grenadiers will compete in the playoffs of the second round which will begin September 6, 2011 and ends November 15, to try to get one of the three first qualification places for the finals of the 2014 World Cup to be played in Brazil.  The Group F is composed only of teams of the Caribbean and has a very interesting mixture of styles and traditions of football. In principle, the favorite is Haiti, but the surprising Antigua and Barbuda will try to spoil the party. Curaçao has the potential to cause a problem, and the Virgin Islands U. S. will try to make history.

Haiti is the favorite team with more tradition in this group and an excellent candidate. However, the current form of the Grenadiers is not at its best. Eliminated in the first phase of the 2010 Caribbean Cup, the Haitian selection missed the opportunity to qualify for the CONCACAF Gold Cup. In addition, due to the earthquake of January 2010, the team had to play its last games “at home” in Miami, United States.

If there is a team of the Caribbean which has greatly improved in recent years, it is that of Antigua and Barbuda. Benjamin Rowan has stunned the region by leading the team to the second round of the Cup 2010 Caribbean and even got a great victory over Guyana. If the team maintain its progress, another surprise is not excluded.

Results of the draw of teams for the playoffs : (Zone CONCACAF (2nd and 3rd round)

Group A: Salvador, Surinam, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic
Group B: Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Barbados, Bermuda 

Group C: Panama, Dominica, Nicaragua, Bahamas
Group D: Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia 

Group E: Grenada, Guatemala, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize
Group F: Haiti, Antigua and Barbuda, Curacao, U.S. Virgin Islands

The winning team from each group will have access the third round:

Group A: USA, Jamaica, winner of E, winner 
Group B: Mexico, Costa Rica, winner, winner B
Group C: Honduras, Cuba, D winner, winner C

The first two of each group will play a fourth round in a pool of six where the first three will qualify directly, while the 4th in the standings will have to go through the barrage.

About -

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>